National Dairy Shrine

Nebraska Ag News Headlines
Ag Committee Leaders to Headline Ag & Food Policy Summit
Nebraska Ag Connection - 03/03/2021

House Agriculture Committee Chairman David Scott, D-Ga., House Agriculture Committee Ranking Member Glenn Thompson, R-Pa., Senate Agriculture Committee Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., Senate Agriculture Committee Ranking member John Boozman, and R-Ark. Senator Mike Braun, R-Ind. are all part of the speaker list for the 2021 Agri-Pulse Ag & Food Policy Summit.

"As a participant, you'll hear from members of Congress, political appointees, food and agricultural leaders from coast to coast, along with industry and academic experts," said Sara Wyant, Agri-Pulse editor and founder. "We are excited to bring together these leaders to discuss the potential for agriculture to play a key role in providing solutions to climate change and the challenges they may face during this debate."

This year's summit will feature three virtual half-day sessions, March 22-24, with the theme: "Climate Risks, Rewards and Uncertainties." Discussions will focus on research needs, potential costs, carbon payments, federal policy options, proposed regulatory changes and more. Wyant says that the event provides a great way for participants to quickly get up to speed on how farmers, foresters and food companies are engaging in climate policies.

Other speakers include but are not limited to:

- Tom Vilsack, Secretary of Agriculture (invited)

- Robert Bonnie, deputy chief of staff for policy and senior advisor on climate at USDA

- Michael Regan, EPA Administrator nominee (invited)

- Senator Chris Coons, D-Del. (invited)

- Chuck Magro, Nutrien

- Debbie Reed, Ecosystem Services Market Consortium

- Frank Mitloehner, UC Davis

- Marty Matlock, University of Arkansas

- Barb Glenn, National Association of State Departments of Agriculture

- Leslie Sarasin, FMI -- The Food Industry Association

- Chuck Conner, National Council of Farmer Cooperatives

- Zippy Duvall, American Farm Bureau Federation

- Elizabeth Gore, Environmental Defense Fund

- Rob Larew, National Farmers Union

- PJ Haynie III, National Black Growers Council

- Chris Harbourt, Indigo Carbon

- Jason Weller, Truterra

- Tom Worth, Risk Management Agency

- Tara Smith, Crop Insurance and Reinsurance Bureau

- Dave Tenny, National Alliance of Forest Owners

- Bob Kirchoff, Organic Valley

- Krysta Harden, U.S. Dairy Export Council

- Erik Fyrwald, Syngenta

- Lynn Scarlett, The Nature Conservancy

- A.G. Kawamura, Solutions from the Land

- Mitchell Hora, Continuum Ag

Other Nebraska Headlines
Ag-Bag Plastic
E-Z Trail Farm Wagons
Copyright © 2021 - All Rights Reserved.